Your search results

ASEAN Countries Visa-Free Visit and VoA Update

Posted by Admin on April 8, 2022

The scope of the policy of granting visa-free visits (BVKKW) and visit visas on arrival (VoA or VKSKKW) specifically for tourism has been expanded, effective on 6th April 2022, according to The Directorate General of Immigration at the Law and Human Rights Ministry. 

“With this policy, foreigners from nine ASEAN countries can enter with visa-free visits, while special VoA or special tourist visas can be granted to foreigners from 43 countries,” said Immigration Traffic Director Amran Aris in a written statement, Tuesday 5th April.

This policy is regulated in the circular letter of the Director-General of Immigration number IMI-0549.GR.01.01 dated 5th April 2022 regarding immigration easing in supporting sustainable tourism during the COVID-19 pandemic.

After previously being the first to open Bali, Soekarno Hatta International Airport in Jakarta and Yogyakarta International Airport can provide VoA.

Requirements for a visa-free visit and VoA

Obtaining a visa-free visit or a VoA requires:

  • Foreigners must show a passport that is valid for at least six months from one of the specified countries.
  • Foreigners are also required to have a return ticket or a pass to continue the journey to another country
  • Proof of payment for a visa on arrival (for VKSKW), and proof of insurance in accordance with the provisions of the Chair of the COVID-19 Task Force.

“The VoA (VKSKKW) tariff of Rp500,000 is in accordance with Government Regulation number 28 of 2019. The extension is the same, the fee is Rp500,000,” said Aris.

A visit permit originating from a VoA or VKSKKW can be extended once for a period of 30 days and carried out at the immigration office according to the area where the foreigner stays while in Indonesia.

19 immigration checkpoints in Indonesia


  1. Soekarno-Hatta (Jakarta) in Banten
  2. Ngurah Rai in Bali
  3. Kualanamu in North Sumatra
  4. Juanda in East Java
  5. Hasanuddin in South Sulawesi
  6. Sam Ratulangi in North Sulawesi
  7. Yogyakarta International in Yogyakarta


  1. Nongsa Maritime Terminal in the Riau Islands
  2. Batam Centre in the Riau Islands
  3. Sekupang in the Riau Islands
  4. Citra Tri Tunas in the Riau Islands
  5. Teluk Senimba Marina in the Riau Islands
  6. Bandar Bentan Telani Lagoi in the Riau Islands
  7. Bandar Seri Udana Lobam in the Riau Islands
  8. Sri Bintan Pura in the Riau Islands

Cross-border points

  1. Entikong in West Kalimantan
  2. Aruk in West Kalimantan
  3. Mota’ain in East Nusa Tenggara
  4. Tunon Ta you in East Kalimantan

Source: Indonesia Expats


The information provided here is based on our long experience. The process or requirement may vary depending on the specific facts and conditions. In addition, laws and regulations in Indonesia are often subject to change. Please contact us as your consultant to get an up to date information and accurate advice. For more information click here and you can also follow our social media accounts to see the latest information posts. please click on the following links: FacebookInstagramLinkedin, and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Compare Listings